The Flame and the Arrow, Annika Brisby book one, by Emigh Cannaday Vaginal Fantasy book club main read for November

I did not read Vaginal Fantasy book clubs main read for October as I could not get a copy so that is why that month is not reviewed.

 

 

The Flame and the Arrow, Annika Brisby book one, written by Emigh Cannaday is a paranormal romance book that was published in 2010, it is Vaginal Fantasy book clubs main read for the month of November. There is a movie of the same name from 1950 but it is not related.

Annika Brisby is an inspiring rock star with her own band and a relatively boring fiancé and life until one day she steps through a portal to another world. With the portal broken, Annika is stranded in a land of magical beings some of whom think her presence there was fated. Taken in by a family of elves, Annika finds herself struggling to resist the seductive spell of their youngest son, Talvi. When Annika learns the consequences of falling for Talvi, it’s too late to turn back and she doesn’t exactly want to. When the portal is fixed and Annika returns home she finds that there are secrets that Talvi is not telling her and their future, though filled with issues, is now set in motion.

I went into this book thinking it would be a shallow sort of read since, sadly, many romantic fantasy books dealing with mythology are like that. I was pleasantly surprised and really enjoyed reading this book. I like Talvi as a character despite his arrogance; I think his humor redeems him. He tried running from his fate but when it actually comes around he welcomes it lovingly, and his love for Annika is wonderful to me. His sister is a snob and I don’t care for her through most of the book, but the ending leads me to believe her character will change and become more personable. I love Finn and Nikola and want to see more of them in future book. I liked the stuff regarding Annika’s bloodline and look forward to learning more. The bumble bee thing, you’ll understand if you read it, is adorable and the ending of the book is absolutely wonderful in my opinion. I love the idea of people over coming whatever is put in their path just for the one they love; it melts my heart even if it isn’t the most realistic thing at times.

This book has good characters, I love books that involve Fae, and the world seems rich though it was only brushed upon. The story was good and has much room to expand. I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the rest of the series at some point.

Now go forth, read fantasy romance novels with multiple mythological creatures, and prosper.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

